Skip to main content

Academic Staff

     

 Sean McLoone

 

Professor Seán McLoone

Professor and EPIC Cluster Director

Location: Ashby 8.26

Email: s.mcloone@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Intelligent systems, data based modelling, analysis of dynamical systems

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

     
 John Morrow  

Professor John Morrow

Professor of Electrical Engineering

Location: Ashby 7.18

Email: dj.morrow@ee.qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Power systems, renewable energy

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

   

Professor Karen Rafferty

Head of School

Location: Ashby 8.15

Email: k.rafferty@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Stereosis for applications within virtual reality, computer vision

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

 
Wasif Naeem  

Dr Wasif Naeem

Senior Lecturer

Location: Ashby 08.022

Email: w.naeem@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Unmanned systems, robotics, system identification and modelling of electro-mechanical systems

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

     
 Tim Littler  

Dr Tim Littler

Senior Lecturer

Location: Ashby 7.19

Email: t.littler@ee.qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Power systems, renewable energy generation and integration, smart grids, power system analysis and protection

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

     

Robert Best

 

Dr Robert Best

Lecturer

Location: Ashby 8.27

Email: r.best@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Smart grids, phasor measurements, distributed generation, electric machinery

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

 

 

 

 

Dr Ahmad Elkhateb

Lecturer

Location: Ashby 08.010

Email: a.elkhateb@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Power Electronics, microgrid, distributed energy generation and grid integration

Pure Profile

 

 

 

 

Dr Stuart Ferguson

Lecturer

Location: Ashby 7.25

Email: r.ferguson@ee.qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Haptics, virtual reality

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

 

 

 

 David Laverty

 

‌Dr David Laverty

Lecturer

Location: Ashby 8.21

Email: david.laverty@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Smart grids, phasor measurements, anti-islanding detection by synchrophasor, renewable and embedded generation, OpenPMU

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

 

 

 

 Xueqin Liu

 

Dr Xueqin Liu (Amy)

Lecturer

Location: Ashby 8.24

Email: x.liu@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Power system wide area monitoring and control, non-linear modelling and control

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

     
 

Dr Nikolaos Athanasopoulos

Lecturer

Location: Ashby 8.17

Email: n.athanasopoulos@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests: Systems theory and optimisation and control applications

Cluster Profile

Pure Profile

Google Scholar

   

Dr David McNeill

Senior Lecturer

Location: Ashby Tower, Room 07.012

Email: dw.mcneill@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests:

 

   

Dr Neil Mitchell

Senior Lecturer

Location: Ashby Tower, Room 08.028

Email: n.mitchell@qub.ac.uk 

Research Interests:

 

   

Dr Emi Garcia-Palacios

Lecturer

Location: Ashby Tower, Room 07.023

Email: e.garcia@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests:

 

   

Dr Hamza Shakeel

Lecturer

Location: Ashby Tower, Room

Email: h.shakeel@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests:

 

 
 

Dr Pantelis Sopasakis

Lecturer

Location: Ashby Tower, Room 07.013

Email: p.sopasakis@qub.ac.uk 

Research Interests:

   

Dr Maarten Van Walstijn

Lecturer

Location: SARC, Room G020

Email: m.vanwalstijn@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests:

   

Dr Mien Van

Lecturer

Location: Ashby Tower, Room

Email: m.van@qub.ac.uk

Research Interests:
Control Theory and Applications:
Neural networks, fuzzy logic, sliding mode control, robust control, nonlinear control
Manufacturing Robots: Serial and parallel robot, physical human-robot interaction, force=torque control, robot-vision systems, welding robot, finishing robot
Autonomous Systems:
Launch and recovery systems

‌