Gender Equality Committee

Gender Equality Committee

Meet the Team

Dr Michelle McKinley is currently Acting Chair of the School Gender Equality Committee which consists of female and male members from Centres within the School, representing all staff categories.

Professor Karen McCloskey, Director of Queen's Gender Initiative, (pictured), also sits on the Gender Equality Committee.


Terms of Reference:

The School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences is committed to promoting equality of opportunity in all its functions and will seek to do this by:

  • identification of specific gender issues and addressing them
  • maintaining mechanisms for monitoring, evaluation and review
  • organization of seminars and networking opportunities
  • promotion of opportunities for engagement with training / mentoring programmes
  • co-ordination of benchmarking activities and award submissions
  • developing and maintaining a website presence
  • raising awareness and publicity within the School and outside
  • working with other UK Medical/Dental Schools to share good practice
  • linking with European networks to develop collaborative projects


Membership of the Gender Equality Committee:

Dr Michelle McKinley Reader, CPH; Acting Director, Gender Equality Office; SMDBS SWAN Champion
Professor Karen McCloskey Deputy Director, CCRCB; Director, Queen's Gender Initiative; Academic Lead, Institutional Athena SWAN
Dr Sean Roe Lecturer (Education), CBMSE
Dr Amanda Willis Clinical Lecturer and Consultant in Oral Medicine
Dr Nuala Tipping Technician, CBMSE
Professor David Grieve Chair, Postgraduate Research Board; Director of Internationalisation
Dr Mairead Corrigan Lecturer (Education); Academic Lead for Equality and Diversity, CME
Dr Neil Kennedy Director, Centre for Medical Education
Dr Xanthi Statchea (MSc, PhD) Postdoctoral Research Fellow, CCRCB
Dr Yvonne Dombrowski Lecturer & Principle Investigator, Wellcome-Wolfson Institute for Experimental Medicine
Mrs Edel O'Hara SUMDE Manager
Dr Una McMenamin Patrick G. Johnston Fellow, Centre for Public Health
Dr Adone Tielenius Kruythoff-Mohd Sarip Lecturer/Principal Investigator (Chromatin Biology), CCRCB
Ms Eimear Byrne PhD Student Ocular Immunology, Wellcome-Wolfson Institute for Experimental Medicine 
Mrs Carolyn Fitzmaurice Faculty Data Analyst, Faculty Office MHLS
Ms Erin Davidson Gender Equality Coordination Assistant, Faculty MHLS


Good Practice Examples




Queen's University Belfast is committed to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion.
For more information please read our Equality and Diversity Policy.

Queen's University Belfast is registered with the Charity Commission for Northern Ireland NIC101788
VAT registration number: GB 254 7995 11