Skip to main content

AHSS nominees


Dr Neil Rowland (Research award)

Queen's Management School

"I am nominating Dr Neil Rowland because he has consistently demonstrated outstanding research performance, under difficult circumstances, in an area of critical societal importance. As part of the UKRI-funded Administrative Data Research Centre NI team researching the health impacts of air pollution, Neil has overcome significant barriers to progress the project towards its successful and timely completion. Researchers need to be in the conversation as NI moves towards introducing its new Clean Air Strategy, and Neil has gone above and beyond in building links with policy makers at Ministerial, Assembly, Health Trust and Local Government levels, and with voluntary sector organisations including Asthma UK and the British Heart Foundation. Neil has developed an Air Pollution Dashboard – launching autumn 2021 – enabling policy makers and public to see pollution levels at the local level anywhere in NI for the first time. Neil’s work has substantially strengthened the likelihood of obtaining renewed UKRI funding for the programme, and has laid strong foundations for a potentially excellent REF2028 impact case study. All this has taken place while access to secure lab data has been heavily restricted due to the pandemic, and while the team’s lead researcher has been absent due to long-term ill health."

Dr Rebecca Loader (Citizenship and outreach award)

School of Social Sciences, Education and Social Work

"I wish to nominate Dr Rebecca Loader for the ‘Citizenship and outreach’ prize. Since becoming the AHSS representative on the new Post-doctoral and Research staff Oversight Group (PROG), I have become fully aware of the enormous work she has undertaken over the last two academic years to develop a collegial post-doctoral community within the Faculty of AHSS. It has been a considerable undertaking and very worthy of recognition by the University."

All nominees

Research award

Neil Rowland (Queen's Manageent School)

Citizenship and Outreach award

Rebecca Loader (School of Social Sciences, Education and Social Work)

Back to PDC Postdoc awards:
Postdoc Prizes