Skip to Content


In pictures: Staff Excellence Awards 2018

Winners in the Staff Excellence Awards 2018 were announced at a gala ceremony on Friday 1 February in the Whitla Hall, hosted by comedian and actor Tim McGarry.

Staff band with Vice-Chancellor - banner

This is the third year of the Staff Excellence Awards, which were established to recognise and celebrate the achievements of staff across the University.


The Awards Ceremony



Colleagues from the People and Culture Directorate

Students' Union President Conor Veighey

The Portering Team enjoying the festivities

Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Greer congratulates the Award winners and nominees


The Winners


Delivering Excellence

Delivering Excellence – Dr Mark Russell, School of Natural and Built Environment

Team of the Year

Team of the Year – Portering Team, Estates Directorate

Achieving Ambitions

Achieving Ambition – Katrijn Maguire, Queen's University Students' Union

Outstanding Leadership

Outstanding Leadership – Dr Kathryn McNeilly, School of Law

Community Engagement

Community Engagement – Gardening Team, Estates Directorate 

Lifetime Achievement

Lifetime Achievement – Christine Carrothers, Information Services

Special Award

Special Recognition – Dr Mark Harbinson, School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences 


The Finale


Closing the ceremony was a surprise performance by 'One Night Only', a band made up of staff and students from across Queen's and led by Professor Michael Alcorn, School of Arts, English and Languages.

The band, the idea for which was first mooted last Autumn, came together after just four practices to treat guests to renditions of classics including I Feel Good, Valerie, At Last and Respect.


Staff Band - Joanne McClelland

Staff Band

Staff Band - Patrick McCullough

Staff Band

Staff Band

Staff Band