Skip to Content

Commercialisation

3684_life-students-research_3V
Commercial Opportunities
LOOKING FOR A TECHNOLOGY TO COMMERCIALISE
Search our technologies
Inventors guide 535x535
Support for Researchers
HELP TO TRANSLATE IDEAS INTO IMPACT
Inventor's guide to commercialisation
Support for Spinouts
Turning research into high-impact commercial innovation
Visit QUBIS
Key Funding Programmes
Funding Programmes for Researchers
Are you a researcher, investor or entrepreneur?

Led by Queens, North-By-Northwest Partners is a community of innovators, business advisers, entrepreneurs and investors to collaborate and help accelerate the commercialisation of University research in the north of England, Scotland and Northern Ireland. A critical aspect of our commercialisation process is engagement with external partners to assist in the validation and commercialisation of our technologies. If you would like to invest, commercialise or mentor some of our exciting opportunities, please register to sign up to our community.

North-By-Northwest Partners

Our success in numbers...

80 Invention Disclosures per year 

100+ Spin outs since 1985 including 3 PLCs

Total 5-year IP revenues (2014-15 to 2018-19) >£80M

#1 university in the UK for entrepreneurial impact 2019 & 2020 

AVAILABLE TECHNOLOGIES
Search

Contacts

Director of Innovation & CEO, QUBIS Ltd

Mr Brian McCaul

02890 97 1520

b.mccaul@qub.ac.uk  

Head of Spin-outs & Investments 

Mr David Moore 

02890 97 1521 

david@qubis.co.uk 

Innovation Partnerships, Strategy and Programmes

Miss Anne Dornan

02890 97 1521 

anne@qubis.co.uk 

Spin-Outs Manager

Mr Charlie Harington

02890 97 1510

charlie@qubis.co.uk  

Head of Innovation Programmes 

Dr Paul Donachy 

02890 97 2544 

p.donachy@qub.ac.uk

Lean start-up Programme Manager 

Dr Amanda McCullough

02890 97 3848

a.mccullough@qub.ac.uk 

Innovation Programmes Administrator

Mrs Frances ORourke

028 90 97 3884

f.orourke@qub.ac.uk 

EIT Seedbed Pre Accelerator Programme Manager

Dr Kerri Crossey

02890 97 3848

k.crossey@qub.ac.uk 

Commercial Development Manager 
(Medicine, Health and Life Sciences)

Dr Alex Chacko

Tel: 02890 97 3370

a.chacko@qub.ac.uk

Commercial Development Manager
(Engineering & Physical Sciences) 

Dr Jason Wiggins 

02890 97 3288 

j.wiggins@qub.ac.uk  

Intellectual Property Manager 

Mr Dermot Tierney 

02890 97 1348 

d.Tierney@qub.ac.uk 

 

POC Programme Administrator

Dr Nicola Minish

02890 97 3887

n.minish@qub.ac.uk

 

IP & Commercialisation Administrator 

Ms Natasha Gilroy 

02890 97 3884 

n.gilroy@qub.ac.uk  

Intellectual Property Officer 

Mrs Aoife McAuley 

02890 97 3777

a.king@qub.ac.uk   

 

 

 

Research and Enterprise Directorate
Queen’s University Belfast
63 University Road
Belfast, BT7 1NF 

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR MAILING LIST
Sign up for our newsletter

Browse our innovation@Queen's newsletters