Skip to Content


Staff win Queen’s University Teaching Awards

Nine individuals and teams from across the University have received Teaching Awards this year in recognition of their excellence in teaching and learning.

Lanyon spire and bunting with fade

Among the winners are four members of staff who were nominated by students.

Organised by the Centre for Educational Development, the Teaching Awards Scheme encourages and rewards the development of learning and teaching and learning support practice that have led to particularly effective/worthwhile learning.

Awards are available in four categories: Student-nominated; Sustained Excellence; Rising Stars; and Excellence in Teaching by a Team.  

This year’s winners are:

Student-nominated category:
•    Johanne Barry, School of Pharmacy
•    Dr Jesus Martinez del Rincon, School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
•    Dr Lezley-Anne Hanna, School of Pharmacy
•    Angela Allen, School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Rising Stars Category (Less than five years)
•    Dr Joe Webster, School of History and Anthropology
•    Dr Paul McCague, School of Pharmacy

Sustained Excellence (Teaching for more than five years)
•    Professor Sean O’Connell, School of History and Anthropology

Team Category
•    Dr Barry Quinn, Dr Alan Hanna and Chris Annett, Queen’s University Management School
•    Dr Haresh Manyar, Professor David Rooney, John Nugent, John Devlin and Bill Annesley, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering and Estates Directorate

Further details of the winners are available on the CED website.

The Queen’s University Teaching Awards 2017 scheme will open in October 2016.