Skip to Content


Queen's University Teaching Awards 2018

Ten individuals and teams from across the University have received Queen's University Teaching Awards in 2018 in recognition of their excellence in teaching and learning.

Lanyon Building at Queen's University Belfast

Organised by the Centre for Educational Development, the Teaching Awards Scheme encourages and rewards the development of learning and teaching practice that has led to particularly effective and worthwhile learning.

Queen's Teaching Awards are available in five categories: Student-nominated; Career Impact; Sustained Excellence; Rising Stars; and Excellence in Teaching by a Team.

Congratulations to this year's winners as follows:

Sustained Excellence Category

  • Dr Kurt Taroff – School of Arts, English and Languages 

  • Dr Helen Roe – School of Natural and Built Environment

Student-nominated Category

  • Aidan McGowan – School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Rising Stars Category

  • Dr Katerina Dounavi – School of Social Sciences, Education and Social Work 

  • Dr Andrew McDowell – School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Excellence in Teaching by a Team Category

  • Dr Nuala Flood, Niek Turner, Dr Jasna Mariotti and Dr Sarah Lappin – School of Natural and Built Environment 

  • Dr Maurice Hall and Dr Lezley-Anne Hanna – School of Pharmacy 

  • Dr Linda Stewart, Dr Angela Mousley and Dr Michael Stewart – School of Biological Sciences; and 
    Maureen McKee, Peter Reavy and Eve Wilson – Information Services 

  • Dr Karen Rafferty, Professor Roger Woods, Dr Neil Buchanan and Dr Sandra Scott Hayward – School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science 

  • Dr Yi Ge, Professor Gavin Andrews, Dr Dan Corbett, Dr Maryam Malekigorji, Dr Min Zhao, Dr Vasanth Palanimuthu, Dr David Wright, Julie Tomes and Cathy Short – China Queen's College/School of Pharmacy; 
    Professor David Rooney – School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; and 
    Lin Bai – School of Law

The Queen's University Teaching Awards 2019 scheme will open in October 2018. Details will be made available at that time.