Skip to Content

Technician Showcase May 2022

Technicians Showcase 26 May 2022

The second Queen's Technician Showcase took place on Thursday 26th May 2022.  The event showcased the work and diversity of technical expertise across the institution.  Over 200 attended the event, including technicians, professional support and academic staff.  We also welcomed guests and technical colleagues from Universities in the Republic of Ireland and Great Britain.

The day started with welcome and updates from a number of distinguished quests, Prof Ian Greer, President and Vice Chancellor of Queen's University Belfast; Prof Alan Stitt, Technician Commitment Institutional Lead & Dean of Innovation and Impact, MHLS (QUB);  Dr Simon Breeden, Science Council & University of York; Prof Emma Flynn, Pro Vice Chancellor Research & Enterprise (QUB) and Dr Alice Dubois, Head of Postdoctoral Development Centre (QUB).

The main showcase took place in the School of Biological Sciences, Chlorine Gardens. The building was filled with activity with a poster gallery, interactive demonstrations by Queen’s technicians and exhibitor stands (Suppliers, People & Culture, Athena Swan, QGI, Queen’s Public Engagement Women’s Tec, Unite). During the afternoon there were also a series of workshops and seminars, tailored directly for the training and development needs and interests of technicians.

This year we held the inaugural Queen's Technicians Awards and we were delighted with the high standard of nominations that were received.  The winners of the awards are listed below.

Technician Award in Education

This award recognises a technical member of staff who clearly demonstrates an impactful contribution to teaching. This technician provides excellent and innovative support to curriculum development and successful delivery, contributing to the effective teaching and learning of students, future students and/or the wider community.

Winner:  Kevin Campbell, School of Nursing & Midwifery                          

Runner up: Marek Knopik, School of Biological Sciences


Luc Belaid    Pharmacy
Solenn Cariou  Pharmacy
Susanne Evans  Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Glenn Gallagher Arts, English & Languages
Paula Johnston  Arts, English & Languages
Kirsty McLaughlin  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Paul Morris  Nursing & Midwifery
Damian Mulholland  Queen's Management School
Jackie O'Connor  Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Troy Patterson  Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Brian Sloan  Natural & Built Environment
Keith Stewart Electronics, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Nuala Tipping  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Mary Tumelty Arts, English & Languages

Technician Award in Research 

This award recognises a technical member of staff who clearly demonstrates innovative technical expertise and excellent support to researchers and students to help deliver high quality and impactful research. 

Winner: Marc Fuchs, Genomic Core Technology Unit, PGJCCR

Runner up: Jill Kilner, Centre for Public Health


Judit Barabas Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Geoff Davis  Natural & Built Environment
Nira De la Vega Gallardo Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Orla Drysdale Biological Sciences
Catherine Fulton  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Inma Garcia-Romero  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Graham Garrett  Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Gavin Graham  Pharmacy
Kirsty McLaughlin  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Donal Moran  Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Jackie O'Connor  Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Maria Rea  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Andrew Young  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences

Newcomer Technician Award

This award recognises a new technical member of staff who demonstrates pride, passion and positivity for their recent technical position within the Queen's community. This technician will clearly demonstrate exceptional potential for their development and the contribution of their role as a ​technician within the University.

*The technical member of staff must have joined the University as a technician within the last 4 years (April 2018 – April 2022).

Winner: Jonny McGuinness, School of Arts, English & Languages

Runner up: Gaelle Level, School of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering

Aaron Bell  Psychology
Steven Hunter  Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Pamela Maxwell  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Fra McBride  Natural & Built Environment
Cecilia McCluskey  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Kerry Millar  Medicine, Dentistry & Biomedical Sciences
Angela Torode    Maths & Physics
Oriol Ymbern  Pharmacy

Technicians Showcase Image Gallery