Skip to Content

Meet our Team

800x533 Maths event cherry blossom
Get in touch

Queen’s University Belfast are committed to progressing positive sustainability change within Queen’s campus and beyond.

To achieve sustainability action, staff and student support is needed throughout campus, within teaching, research, operations and the students’ union.

On this page we have included information on those groups, staff and students who are key to decision-making and the delivery of key sustainability strategies and initiatives.

BOARDS AND GROUPS

THE SUSTAINABILITY TEAM 

An introduction to our Sustainability Team members and the key roles they play in promoting Queen’s University’s Net Zero aspirations.

Name

Job Title

Contact Information

Description

Professor Stuart Elborn

Provost and Deputy Vice Chancellor, University Management Board Sponsor for Sustainability

pvc-mhls@qub.ac.uk

University Academic Lead for Sustainability.

Key areas: carbon and research

Professor Michael Alcorn

 

Associate Pro-Vice Chancellor Sustainability
and Special Projects

m.alcorn@qub.ac.uk

University Academic Lead for Sustainability.

Key areas: integrated working on sustainability across teaching, research and operations. Institutional lead on the the UN SDSN Ireland with UCC.

Peter Erwin

Interim Director of Estates

p.erwin@qub.ac.uk

Key areas: strategic development, carbon management, plans and programme management

Dara Curley

Acting Head of Services

d.curley@qub.ac.uk 

Key areas: strategic development, carbon management, plans and programme management

Sara Lynch

Head of Sustainability

s.lynch@qub.ac.uk

Key areas: strategic development, carbon management, engagement and communications, plans and programme management

John McCann

Estates Manager (Environmental)

john.mccann@qub.ac.uk

Key areas: travel, waste, carbon management, engagement and communications, plans and programme management

Tony Schmidt

Estates Manager (Energy and Carbon Manager)

a.schmidt@qub.ac.uk

Key areas: carbon management, plans and programme management

Nathan Campbell

Estates Manager (Sustainable Construction)

n.campbell@qub.ac.uk 

Key areas: carbon management, construction

TBC

Sustainable Procurement Officer, Finance Directorate, Procurement Office

 

Key areas: sustainable purchasing

Nicola Keown

Assistant Estates Manager (Environmental- Waste)

nicola.keown@qub.ac.uk

Key areas: waste reduction, communications

TBC

Assistant Estates Manager (Environmental- Transport)

 

Key areas: sustainable travel, communications

Rachel Vaughan

Project Support Officer (Sustainability)

rachel.vaughan@qub.ac.uk

Key areas: engagement and communication

Alan Hughes

Energy Inspector

alan.hughes@qub.ac.uk

Key areas: carbon management

Lee Bore

Data Analyst

l.bore@qub.ac.uk

Key areas: carbon management

Naomi Martin

Environmental Officer

n.martin@qub.ac.uk

Key areas: engagement and communication