Irish Political and Cultural Identities

Irish Political and Cultural Identities: 1650-1850

 

Monday 22 May 2017

Irish Studies Seminar Room, 6-8 Fitzwilliam St

 

9:45-10:30: Welcome

10:00– 11:00: Music Papers

 

Name

Paper Title

Email

Dr Conor Caldwell

Beyond the Irish Song Project: Reimagining the Edward Bunting Manuscripts

ccaldwell09@qub.ac.uk

Ciara Conway

A Musical Dublin: John O’Keeffe’s Musical Exposure in 1770s Dublin.

cconway22@qub.ac.uk

 

11:00 – 11:15: Break

11:15 – 12:45: History Papers

 

Name

Paper Title

Email

Dr Leonie Hannan

'The Home as a Site of Cultural Activity in Eighteenth-Century Ireland and England'

l.hannan@qub.ac.uk

 

Dr John Cunningham

'Medical Practice and Cultural Identities in Ireland, c. 1650- c. 1730' 

 john.cunningham@qub.ac.uk

Professor Peter Gray

‘William Sharman and the Politics of Volunteering in Ulster, c.1780-93’

p.h.gray@qub.ac.uk

 

Lunch: 12:45-1:30

 

1:30-3:00: English Papers

 

Name

Paper Title

Email

Dr Joe Lines

 

 '“The Voice of Toleration”: Irish Religion in a 1780s “Minor” Novel'

 

jlines01@qub.ac.uk

Prayag Ray

A “New Light” on Hinduism? Irish Influences on Elizabeth Hamilton’s View of Hinduism in Letters of a Hindoo Rajah (1796)

 

pray02@qub.ac.uk

 

Dr Daniel Roberts

‘“Ireland is [not] to be looked upon only as a Colony”: Patriotism and imperialism in eighteenth-century Irish fiction’ 

 d.s.roberts@qub.ac.uk

 

3:00 – 3:15: Coffee

 

3:15 – 5:00: Roundtable Session

Archival Collections and Irish Identities

 

Name

Title

Email

Eilís Lavelle

The Characteristics of Edward Bunting's Collection

elavelle01@qub.ac.uk

Lorraine Bourke (PRONI)

Estate Records in PRONI

lorraine.bourke@communities-ni.gov.uk

Michael O’Connor

QUB Special Collections and Irish Identity.

michael.oconnor@qub.ac.uk

 

Nollaig Casey

The O’Neill Collection ncaseymcglynn01@qub.ac.uk

 

 This is a free event, but if you are intending to come, please email Ciara Conway (cconway22@qub.ac.uk) by Wednesday 17 May

 

 

Queen's University Belfast is committed to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion.
For more information please read our Equality and Diversity Policy.

Queen's University Belfast is registered with the Charity Commission for Northern Ireland NIC101788
VAT registration number: GB 254 7995 11