Skip to Content


Undergraduate success on GP Placement at QUB Prize Day

Evelyn Boyd Scott Medal and Prize

This medal and prize derives from the donation to the University in 1982 of a sum of £3,000 by the Rev. Norman S. Boyd Scott in memory of his wife, Evelyn Boyd Scott, and in appreciation of the work of the Department of General Practice. A medal and prize of at least £300 shall be awarded annually to the most distinguished medical student in the subject of General Practice on the results of a special examination to be held in Year 5 of the undergraduate medical curriculum. Eligibility is limited to the top three highest scoring students in the General Practice element of the Fourth Year Written Assessment. In the event of tied scores in the General Practice element, students will be ranked on their overall score in the Written Assessment. The top three students will be invited to present themselves for the special examination. Dr Helen Reid presented the Evelyn Boyd Scott medal to Sinead Donnelly.

Pearse Donnelly Prizes

The Pearse Donnelly Prize in General Practice was established in 1997 by colleagues who wished to mark the retirement of Dr Pearse Donnelly, a general practitioner who worked tirelessly in Belfast for many years and who is remembered fondly by patients and colleagues alike.
A prize, consisting of a certificate and a cheque, will be awarded annually to the
undergraduate medical student submitting the best project as part of the “Family attachment Scheme” component of the undergraduate medical curriculum.
The Prize will be awarded by the School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences on the recommendation of a panel including academic General Practice staff. The project must be entirely the student’s own work.
In the event of a tie, the prize will be divided equally, but the prize will not be awarded should work of sufficient merit not be submitted in a particular year.
The value of the prize will be approximately £100 depending on the annual income to the fund. Dr Grainne Kearney presented the Pearse Donnelly prizes for Family Attachment to joint winner Holly Creighton and Aidan Walsh