Skip to Content

Election of Support Staff to Membership of Senate

Declaration of Results

In accordance with the Regulation for the Election of Six Members of Staff to Membership of Senate, a by-election was conducted for the following constituency:

Support Staff (one vacancy)

The election was conducted in accordance with the relevant Regulation on the principle of proportional representation with each member of the electorate having a single transferable vote.

Nominations closed on Monday, 25 January 2021. The number of persons nominated was greater than the number of vacancies to be filled.

Following the close of polling on Sunday, 21 February 2021, the votes were collated and counted.

The candidate named below has been elected to the Senate of the University, as a representative of Support Staff, for a period up to 31 December 2021.

The total number of votes cast was 379.  The quota was 190.

Following the transfer of votes, the following candidate has been duly elected:

DONNA HYLAND     Number of Votes: 209


A full analysis of the election result is available from Damien Corridan (Returning Officer) at

Any further queries relating to this election may be referred to the Returning Officer.