General Information

Semester Dates

Semester Dates 2017-18

The taught academic year is 30 weeks for full-time undergraduate and postgraduate taught students. Master’s students also undertake a 15-week dissertation or research project, normally conducted between June and September.

Date Undergraduate Postgraduate Taught
Monday 18 September – Friday 22 September 2017 Welcome Week
Monday 25 September – Friday 15 December 2017 Weeks 1-12
Monday 18 December 2017 – Friday 5 January 2018 Christmas Vacation
Monday 8 January – Friday 23 March 2018 Weeks 13-23
Monday 26 March – Friday 13 April 2018 Easter Vacation
Monday 16 April – Friday 1 June 2018 Weeks 24-30
Monday 4 June 2018 - Friday 14 September 2018 Summer Vacation Dissertation or research project

RAG Day: Wednesday 21 February 2018

Reading Day: Friday 16 March 2018 

Deadline for publication of semester 1 assessment results: Tuesday 6 February 2018

Deadline for publication of semester 2 assessment results: Thursday 14 June 2018

Summer Graduation week: Thursday 28 June – Wednesday 4 July 2018  

Formal exams for UG students, if required, will be scheduled during weeks 25-27 

Developmental opportunities for UG students will be scheduled during weeks 28-30 

Formal exams for PGT students, if required, will be scheduled during weeks 28-30

Resit Examinations will be scheduled between 6 and 18 August 2018. Further information is available on the Examinations Office website.

Senior Officers of the University


Her Majesty The Queen


Mr Tom Moran (2015)


Mr Stephen Prenter, BSSc, FCA, MIMC (2013)

Dr Stephen Kingon, CBE, BA, DBA, FCA, FIC, CMC (2013) 

Honorary Treasurer

Ms Orla Corr, OBE, BSc, ACCA, Dip ACC (2016)

Acting President and Vice-Chancellor

Professor James C McElnay BSc, PhD, FPSNI, FRPHarmS, FACCP, FBPHarmacolS

Registrar and Chief Operating Officer

Mr James P J O’Kane, BA CNAA, CPFA (1999) 


Professor David S Jones PhD, DSc, CChem, CEng, FPS, FIMMM, FRSS, MIEI, MRSC
(Education and Students) (2014)

Professor Richard English, MA, PhD, FBA, MRIA, FRSE, FRHistS
(Internationalisation and Engagement) (2016)

Position Vacant
(Research, Enterprise and Postgraduate Affairs)

Professor Adrienne Scullion, MA, PhD, FRSA, FRSE
(Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences) (2015)

Professor Mark Price, BEng MSc PhD CEng FRAeS FIMechE MBCS CITP
(Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences) (2015)

Professor Chris Elliott, OBE, MSc, PhD, FRSC, FRSB, FIFST
(Faculty of Medicine, Health and Life Sciences) (2015)

The Senate

Members ex officio

The Pro-Chancellors
The President and Vice-Chancellor
The Honorary Treasurer

Elected by the Academic Council

Dr Dominic McSherry
Dr Clare Dwyer

Elected by the Academic Staff

Dr Fabian Schuppert
Dr Renee Prendergast

Elected by the Support Staff

Mr Eyad Abu-Khiran
Mr Kevin Flanagan

Students’ Union President

Mr Stephen McCrystall

Elected by the Students’ Union Council

Mr Robert Murtagh

Elected by Convocation

Ms Carol Kinkead

Co-opted Members

Mr Eric Bell
Mrs Lesley Bourke
Mr Graham Cash
Mr Adrian Doran
Mrs Sheila Fleming
Ms Marion Matchett
Ms Ann McGregor
Mr Alan Shannon
Dr Declan Tiernan
Dr Michael Wardlow 


Academic Structure

Please note: the Institute of Professional Legal Studies operates independently from the below University Structure. 

Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

School of Arts, English and Languages
School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics
School of Law
Queen’s Management School
School of Social Sciences, Education and Social Work
Institute of Theology
The Senator George J Mitchell Institute for Global Peace, Security and Justice 

Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences

School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
School of Mathematics and Physics
School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
School of Natural and Built Environment
School of Psychology

Faculty of Medicine, Health and Life Sciences

School of Biological Sciences
School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences
School of Nursing and Midwifery
School of Pharmacy


Primary Degrees of the University

Foundation Degree in Arts (FdA)

Foundation Degree in Engineering (FdEng)

Foundation Degree in Science (FdSc)

Bachelor of Arts (BA)

Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)

Bachelor of Divinity (BD)

Bachelor of Education (BEd)

Bachelor of Engineering (BEng)

Bachelor of Laws (LLB)

Bachelor of Medicine (MB), Bachelor of Obstetrics (BAO) and Bachelor of Surgery (BCh)

Bachelor of Music (BMus)

Bachelor of Science (BSc)

Bachelor of Social Work (BSW)

Bachelor of Theology (BTh)

Master of Engineering (MEng)

Master of Pharmacy (MPharm)

Master of Planning (MPlan)

Master of Science (MSci)

Note: Primary degree students are registered initially on an Honours degree programme, but an Ordinary degree is available to students who are not able to proceed to Honours (see Regulations for Students, paragraph 1.12.  In general, a Single Honours Degree is taken in one subject; a Joint Honours Degree is taken in two subjects, equally weighted; a Major/Minor Honours Degree is taken in two subjects, weighted two-thirds/one-third.


Postgraduate Degrees of the University

Doctor of Childhood Studies (DChild)

Doctor of Clinical Psychology (DClinPsych)

Doctor of Divinity (DD)

Doctor of Education (EdD)

Doctor of Education (EdD) TESOL

Doctorate in Educational, Child and Adolescent Psychology (DECAP)

Doctor of Laws (LLD)

Doctor of Letters (DLitt)

Doctorate in Governance (DGov)

Doctor of Medicine (MD)

Doctorate in Midwifery Practice (DMP)

Doctorate in Nursing Practice (DNP)

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Doctor of Science (DSc)

Doctor of Science (Economics) (DSc(Econ))

Doctor of Science (Education) (DSc(Ed))

Doctor of Social Science (DSSc)

Juris Doctor (JD)

Master of Arts (MA)

Master of Architecture (MArch)

Master of Business Administration (MBA)

Master of Education (MEd)

Master of Laws (LLM)

Masters in Law (MLaw)

Master of Philosophy (MPhil)

Master of Public Health (MPH)

Master of Research (MRes)

Master of Science (MSc)

Master of Surgery (MCh)

Master of Theology (MTh)

Postgraduate Diploma (PG Diploma)

Postgraduate Certificate (PG Certificate)

Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE)