Skip to Content

Health and Safety Consultative Committee

Terms of Reference:

The Committee provides the opportunity for employees to participate in the development of strategic health, safety and welfare policies for the University. Its purpose is to:

(a) Provide a forum for formal consultation and communication with employees on health, safety and welfare matters at work.

(b) Assist in the development of safety management structures, systems of work and procedures.

(c) Review Health and Safety aspects of future developments in processes, machinery acquisitions, equipment and materials and the introduction of any new measures which may affect employees’ Health and Safety.

(d) Review and assist in the development of safety training programmes.

(e) Review the effectiveness of Health and Safety communications within the workplace.

(f) Review the arrangements made by the employer for appointing or nominating competent persons for advice on health, safety and welfare at work.

(g) Review accident and occupational health trends.

(h) Review the outcome of safety audits.

(i) Review Health and Safety proposals and plans.

(j) Review resources for the achievement of plans and objectives. 



Current Members


Head of University Safety, Estates Administration and Systems

Mr R McELnay

Ex Officio:

Director of Estates (or nominee)

Mr P Erwin (Nominee)



Director of People and Culture (or nominee)

Ms L Millar (Nominee)


University Safety Manager

Mrs L Smith


Chair, Biological and Infectious Agents Advisory Committee

Professor M Valvano


A Head of School

Professor  H McCarthy


A School Manager

Mrs A Doherty


Faculty Representative

Mr H Ritchie



Eight Trade Union Safety Representatives (UNITE, ATGWU, NIPSA, RCN, UCU safety representatives as appointed by the Trade Union Safety Representatives Committee)

Mr N Devlin

Mr H Lewsley

Mr B O’Loughlin

Mr K McDonald

Mr N McKenna

Dr K Morgan

Mr J Sloan

(NIPSA - position vacant)







A Student representative (or nominee)

President, Students’ Union
(or Student Officer nominee) 

In Attendance:

Relevant University Officers

Occupational Health Representative

As Required

Ms J O'Rourke

Serviced by:

University Safety Service

Reports to:

Health and Safety Management Group


Receives reports from:


Health and Safety Management Group

Health and Safety Compliance Committee / Project Groups

Biological and Infectious Agents Advisory Committee

Schools and Directorates as required

Other committees and Advisory Groups as appropriate

 Updated November 2021