Strategic Marketing and Communications

D5_Out and About_2V_07

Strategic Marketing and communications

Positioning Queen’s as a
global leader

The role of the Strategic Marketing and Communications unit is to position Queen’s as a global leader in education and research, delivering a world class experience for our students and continuing to drive the future economic growth of Northern Ireland with impact on global society.

Head of Strategic Marketing and Communications

Jamie Armstrong
j.armstrong@qub.ac.uk I 028 9097 3185

What we do

We communicate locally and internationally with prospective undergraduate and postgraduate students and those who influence them, the global academic community, funding institutions, the media and policy makers.  Our work attracts and welcomes students, staff and researchers, raises the University's profile and reputation and generates support and funding for Queen’s.

The unit is responsible for internal, external and corporate communications; media affairs; brand, marketing and advertising; website, social media and digital activities; market research and insight; publications (including the university prospectuses), design and video.

The team is made up of three divisions:

  • Communications
  • Strategic Marketing and Campaigns
  • Digital and Content

We deliver a full service in-house marketing and communications service, develop and protect the Queen’s brand, manage all communications channels, plan and produce marketing campaigns, manage paid media campaigns, manage media relations and corporate communications.

Clerical

Key Contacts

Clerical officer

David Sleator
d.sleator@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 3185

Clerical officer

Emma Rynn
e.rynn@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 2586

Communications

Key Functions

Media Relations, Internal Communications and Corporate Communications

Key Contacts

Communications Manager (Acting)
Emma Gallagher
emma.gallagher@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5384
Communications Officer

Zara McBrearty
z.mcbrearty@qub.ac.uk |028 9097 3259

Sian Devlin
s.devlin@qub.ac.uk |028 9097 5292

Jemma Greenlees
j.greenlees@qub.ac.uk |028 9097 3087

Kathryn Kirk
k.kirk@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5310

Communications Office

comms.office@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 3091

Internal Communications

Internal Communications Officer Mary Ellen Donaghy
mary-ellen.donaghy@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5355
Internal Communications Assistant Seth Blacklock
s.blacklock@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5254

Strategic marketing and campaigns

Key Functions

Strategic Planning, Market Insight, Advertising and Marketing Campaigns. 

Key Contacts

Strategic Marketing Manager

Peter McConkey
p.mcconkey@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 1150

Campaigns Marketing Manager 

Victoria McAdoo
V.McAdoo@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 2567

Market Insight Manager

Kathryn Boyd
k.boyd@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 1088

Market Insight Officer

Clare Crossan
c.crossan@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 5230

Market Insight Assistant

Kiera Griffin
k.griffin@qub.ac.uk | (028) 9097 5317

Social Media Manager

Stephen Baxter-Crawford
s.baxter-crawford@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5953

Social Media Assistant

Kachela Murray
Kachela.murray@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5246

Creative

Key Functions

Content Planning, Design, Brand, Video and Prospectus.

Key Contacts

Marketing Manager (Campaigns and Creative)

Tim McCann
t.mccann@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 3488

Studio Manager Ivan Ewart
i.ewart@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1272
Visual Content Producer Tom Hughes
t.hughes@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1120
Copywriter
Paul Wilson
p.d.wilson@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 3488

Katherine Hamilton
katherine.hamilton@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5236

Graphic Designer
Daniel Smyth
d.smyth@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1042
James Davis
j.m.davis@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1243
Video Content Assistant David Kinghan
d.kinghan@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1334
Video Assistant

Oonagh Parish
O.Parish@qub.ac.uk | 

Digital

Key Functions

Website, CRM and Email Campaigns.

Key Contacts

 

Marketing Manager (Digital) Paul Ferguson
p.ferguson@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5095
Website Manager Charlotte Jess
charlotte.jess@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5386
Website Assistant Clare O'Neill
clare.oneill@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 1977
Digital Designer Andrew Lane
a.lane@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5294
Marketing and CRM Officer Gemma McAfee
g.mcafee@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 3822 
CRM Assistant Cameron Bowers
c.bowers@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 5353 
Digital Insights Officer Pete Speak 
p.speak@qub.ac.uk | 028 9097 2518

Previous section

Public Engagement

Next section

Key Contacts