Skip to Content

Reconstitution of Senate

In line with the Regulation for the Election of Six Members of Staff to Membership of Senate, elections were conducted for the following constituencies:

Academic Staff - two members
Support Staff - two members

The elections were conducted on the principle of proportional representation with each member of the electorate, in each constituency, having a single transferable vote. 

Nominations for both constituencies closed on Tuesday, 14 November 2017. In both constituencies the number of persons nominated was greater than the number of vacancies to be filled. 

Following the close of polling on Monday, 11 December 2017, the votes were collated and counted, and the candidates highlighted in bold below have been elected to the Senate, as Academic Staff and Support Staff members, for a period of four years, with effect from 1 January 2018. 

Academic Staff

The total number of votes cast was 239 and the quota was 79.67.

Candidates received the following first-preference votes: 

Véronique Altglas 97 votes
Wesley C. Fraser 47 votes
Fabian Schuppert 95 votes

The following candidates were duly elected on the first count:

Véronique Altglas

Fabian Schuppert


Support Staff

The total number of votes cast was 513 and the quota was 172.

Candidates received the following first-preference votes: 

Eyad Abu-Khiran 70 votes
Kevin Flanagan 120 votes
Fiona McGarry 58 votes
Anya O'Connor 76 votes
Olivia Roberts 111 votes
Dolores Vischer 78 votes

Following the transfer of votes, the following candidates were duly elected:

Kevin Flanagan - 174 votes

Olivia Roberts - 160 votes

A full analysis of the election results is available from Damien Corridan (Returning Officer) at

If you have any further questions relating to these elections, you should again, contact the Returning Officer.