Skip to Content

Higher Doctorates

The University awards the following Higher Doctorate degrees:

Doctor of Divinity (DD)
Doctor of Laws (LLD)
Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
Doctor of Science (DSc)
Doctor of Science (Economics) (DSc(Econ))
Doctor of Science (Education) (DSc(Ed))
Doctor of Social Science (DSSc) 

Applicants must have a significant link to the University, normally by being a graduate of the University or a current academic member of staff.  Normally applicants will also have a minimum of ten years' research experience at a postdoctoral level.  Applicants are required to establish a prima facie case that their work is of an appropriate standard, in accordance with the Postgraduate Admissions Policy.

The Admissions and Access Service processes paper applications for Higher Doctorates, and will also issue official documentation to international applicants for immigration and visa entry purposes, if appropriate.  International Student Support can offer advice on visa and immigration issues.

The Study Regulations for Higher Doctorates provide regulations regarding:

  1. Registration.
  2. Period of Study (12 months part-time).
  3. Temporary withdrawal.
  4. The appointment of an Adviser.
  5. Assessment/Award (including the format of the submission, the requirements for the Higher Doctorate, the procedure for submission, the appointment of examiners, and the examination process).