Skip to Content

Postgrad Associates

 

Asma Alblooshi

Education

The potential of transformative learning in study abroad programmes: factors and conditions that promote or constrain transformative learning

aalblooshi01@qub.ac.uk

Jamie Anderson

English

Things in Northern Irish poetry: from Mahon to Morrissey

janderson35@qub.ac.uk

Alba Arenales

Sociology

 Riots as a tactic within the Provisional Republican Movement during the Troubles in Northern Ireland. 

aarenales01@qub.ac.uk

Jack Armstrong

Politics

Do lower preference transfers in STV elections assist moderate political parties in deeply divided societies? Evidence from local, Assembly and European elections in Northern Ireland since 1973

jarmstrong47@qub.ac.uk

Jennifer Arthur

Politics

Identifying diversity in Irish nationalism: a study of Irish identity in the Gaelic Athletic Association

jarthur08@qub.ac.uk

Melissa Baird

History

Irish-America and the Northern Irish Civil Rights Movement 1966-1969

mbaird09@qub.ac.uk

Rachael Black

Geography

Co-designing a shared future: how can children be a part of reimagining Belfast’s interfaces?

rblack17@qub.ac.uk

Ece Sila Bora

Architecture

Exploring the City Through Film Locations and Cinematic Representations: A Comparative Study of Belfast and Dublin  ebora01@qub.ac.uk 

Olivia Brabazon

Politics

Young people and PEACE: the EU PEACE Programmes and young people's experiences of conflict transformation in Northern Ireland and the Border Region

obrabazon01@qub.ac.uk

Mylie Brennan

Politics / IR

Political attitudes of the Good Friday Agreement generation in Northern Ireland

mbrennan36@qub.ac.uk

Stuart Brown

History

Building a dynasty: Ballymena to Baltimore: Alexander Brown and the internationalisation of the Irish Presbyterian network, 1760 – 1840; an economic, social and political analysis

Sbrown583@qub.ac.uk

Anthony Clyde

History

Old age, poverty and welfare in Ulster, 1850-1921

aclyde03@qub.ac.uk

Darren Colbourne

History

When the War's Already Home: A Re-examination of the People's Democracy through Identification, Narrative, and Comparative Politics

dcolbourne01@qub.ac.uk

Kathryn Cribbin 

Politics

Evaluating the effectiveness of co-operation between the Irish and the Northern Irish police against cross-border paramilitary threats, 1956 to 2021

kcribbin01@qub.ac.uk

Lucy Cullen

English

Modernity and Identity in Contemporary Irish Fiction

lcullen17@qub.ac.uk

Stephen de Burca

English

Atlantic Breadth: Coastal life and marine imagination in Irish poetry since 1960  

Susie Deedigan

History

‘Let the girl go home’: gender and political imprisonment in Britain and Ireland, 1939-1945

sdeedigan01@qub.ac.uk

Sharon Dempsey

English / Creative writing

After the Party and No Body, No Crime:  The Female Body as Crime Scene. A critical-creative examination of representations of the female body in Northern Irish crime fiction  sdempsey05@qub.ac.uk 

Emma Dewhirst

History

The roots of radicalism: Networks, organisation and the Irish Revolution, 1913-1919

edewhirst01@qub.ac.uk

Savannah Dodd

Anthropology

Photography ethics in post-conflict Belfast

sdodd02@qub.ac.uk

Áine Doran

Economics

A reversal of fortunes: a study of poverty in 19th-century Ireland

adoran13@qub.ac.uk

Karin Elliott

Architecture

Invisibility, appropriation, subversion: British Army Observation Posts at the Shankill Falls Divide

kelliott13@qub.ac.uk

Sarah Ferrandin

Archaeology

Investigating the timing and causes of Nitrogen Cycle changes in Bronze Age Ireland

sferrandin01@qub.ac.uk

Judith Findlater

Archaeology

Feeding Medieval Carrickfergus –  A multi-proxy study of livestock husbandry in a frontier town

jfindlater01@qub.ac.uk

Matthew Flowers

English

Irish innovations: proto-modernism in neglected Irish writing c.1880-1920

mflowers01@qub.ac.uk

Daryll Galloghly

Politics

A Treatise on Political Violence in South Armagh in the 1920s and 1970s

dgalloghly02@qub.ac.uk

Matthew Gault

Anthropology

'Commemorating the Troubles' - Remembrance in contested rural spaces

mgault09@qub.ac.uk

Nadine Gilmore

History

Queer Belfast: the social and cultural practices of gay men, c. 1967-2005

ngilmore03@qub.ac.uk

Chris Hamill

Architecture

Ireland’s Magdalene Laundries

chamill625@qub.ac.uk

Jayne Hamilton

Education

An exploration of the evolution of young children’s identity in a post conflict society

jpatterson43@qub.ac.uk

Richard Hargy

Politics/IR

The United States Department of State and Northern Ireland 2001–7: How the bureaucratic dynamics of an executive branch of the federal government affected American intervention in the peace process.

rhargy01@qub.ac.uk 

Dominic Harkin

English

Flann O'Brien and the Philosophy of Science

dharkin07@qub.ac.uk

Lorraine Holloway-McCarney

Geography

Rural 'belonging' and family farm men across their life-course in Northern Ireland: challenges for 'remaining-in and leaving' family farming

lhollowaymccarney01@qub.ac.uk

Juneseo Hwang

Politics

Collaborative governance for waste crime enforcement as a catalyst for environmental peacebuilding in Northern Ireland: a nexus approach to environment, peace and security

jhwang02@qub.ac.uk

Neale Jagoe

Politics

Football and identity in deeply divided societies

njagoe01@qub.ac.uk

Suzanne Jobling

History

Women's employment, equal pay and anti-discrimination legislation from 1969 to 1993: A comparative study of the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland and Great Britain.

sjobling01@qub.ac.uk

Annie Mary Jowett

Irish

The Irish dialect of South Leinster: evidence found in placenames and in 18th and 19th century written sources.

ajowett01@qub.ac.uk

Shannon Kelly

English

Censorship in the poetry of Northern Ireland, Romania, and Poland

skelly727@qub.ac.uk

Eilís Lavelle

Music

Scribal practice of selected repertory in the Edward Bunting manuscript collection

elavelle01@qub.ac.uk

Darren Litter

Politics

European integration and British-Irish intergovernmentalism: inextricably intertwined?

dlitter01@qub.ac.uk

Fiona Lowe

Management

Institutional change in cultural organisations across Northern Ireland in response to COVID-19

flowe01@qub.ac.uk

Amanda Lubit

Anthropology

Examining place-making and belonging through the movements of Muslim women in and around Belfast.

alubit01@qub.ac.uk

Deirdre Mac Bride

History

Commemoration and social memory in Northern Ireland: using heritage to remember the Easter Rising and the Battle of the Somme.

dmacbride01@qub.ac.uk

Tom Marshall

Anthropology

An ethnography of researchers during the COVID-19 pandemic

lmarshall07@qub.ac.uk

Cynthia Mathews

English

Language variation across the generations in spoken Irish English, using historical audio recordings and newly collected interviews

cmathews03@qub.ac.uk

Rhonda Mayne

English

Virginia Woolf and dance

rmayne04@qub.ac.uk

 

 

Ciara McAllister

English

Gendered and classed: an intersectional approach to the drama and fiction of the Troubles

cmcallister42@qub.ac.uk

Richard McBride

Law

The Role of the Lord Chancellor of Ireland, 1852 to 1922, with particular emphasis on the judicial role of the office

rmcbride22@qub.ac.uk

Thomas McConaghie

Urban Planning

The right to Belfast: power, politics and public participation of retail-led regeneration in Belfast city centre

tmcconaghie02@qub.ac.uk

Brendan McKee

Politics

Nationalism and Separatism in Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales  bmckee18@qub.ac.uk 

Jason McKillen

Mitchell Institute

Emerging technology and security, with particular interest in contemporary security issues in Northern Ireland jmckillen04@qub.ac.uk

Gerard McLaughlin

Irish

The Irish language and the mark of the beast

gmclaughlin14@qub.ac.uk

Brona McNeill

Law

Land ownership and nature conservation: reconceptualising property rights to further environmental governance in Northern Ireland

bmcneill02@qub.ac.uk

Marie McQuade

Creative Writing

Irish Girlhood in the contemporary short story by southern and northern Irish women authors

mmcquade05@qub.ac.uk

Louise Moffett

Archaeology

The place of the late medieval church in Ulster

fmoffet01@qub.ac.uk

Miren Mohrenweiser

Politics

Martyr or mother: Irish republicanism versus Irish motherhood in Northern Ireland prison protests, 1975-1981

mmohrenweiser01@qub.ac.uk

John Mooney

Politics

For men and Ulster: Post-Agreement loyalism, patriarchy and identity

jmooney04@qub.ac.uk

Emily Moore

Drama

How theatre in Northern Ireland presents and engages with many issues that are central to transitional justice aims and practices

emoore23@qub.ac.uk

Courtney Mundt

Archaeology

Mapping the physical and religious influences behind cillíní distribution on the island of Ireland: counties Antrim, Fermanagh, Tyrone, Mayo, Limerick, and Meath as case studies

cmundt01@qub.ac.uk

Rita-Marie Murtagh

Education

Education and transitional justice in Northern Ireland (the effects of the 'Troubles' on education, and how issues such as shared education can address divided societies will feature heavily)

rmurtagh05@qub.ac.uk

Frances Neilson

Politics

The British and the Irish Question: Historical perceptions and the current crisis

fneilson01@qub.ac.uk

Rachel Newell

History

Women in the dock: female criminality and Ulster society 1880s-1930s  rnewell05@qub.ac.uk 

Jamie Nugent

History

“Making Ulster the Tourists’ Mecca”: Leisure, Identity and Modernity in the North of Ireland, c.1900-1970  jnugent13@qub.ac.uk 

Declan O'Doherty

History

A study of post-traumatic stress disorder in post-revolutionary Ireland.

dodoherty03@qub.ac.uk

Grainne O'Malley

Management

From conflict to competitive advantage in sub-national contexts: Comparing business leaders as institutional entrepreneurs in Northern Ireland and the Geneva region of Switzerland.

gomalley02@qub.ac.uk

Yumi Omori 

Sociology

Ordinary women’s experiences of conflict and conflict transformation: comparing the cases of urban and rural communities in Northern Ireland

yomori01@qub.ac.uk

Sarah O'Neill

Translation

Content and language integrated learning for languages other than English: a pilot project in the Northern Ireland policy context

soneill932@qub.ac.uk

James Orchin

History

A Moon among lesser Stars: William Windham and the English Right, 1780-1810

jorchin03@qub.ac.uk

James Costello O’Reilly

English

Northern Irish poetry and the news

jcostellooreilly01@qub.ac.uk

Dale Pankhurst

Politics / Conflict Studies

States and “Pro-Government” Militias (PGMs): Delegation, deniability, acquiescence or antagonism? Explaining variation in state-PGM relationships in Northern Ireland, the Philippines, and Colombia.

dpankhurst01@qub.ac.uk

Ciara Power

Anthropology

Dancing to the Same Beats?: Gender, Activism and COVID-19 in Electronic  Music Scenes in Belfast and Dublin

cpower14@qub.ac.uk

Anthony Quinn

English / Creative Writing

Storytellers in fallen worlds: the metaphysical longings of crime fiction detectives

aquinn76@qub.ac.uk

Molly Quinn-Leitch

English

Post-Partition Shakespeare: Northern Ireland’s Bard in History, Politics and Culture (1921-Present)

mquinnleitch01@qub.ac.uk

Alex Reid

English

Researching the use of horror in Troubles literature, film, and theater

areid44@qub.ac.uk

Clair Richardson

Archaeology

Society and the Dead: Geospatial and Statistical Analysis of Complex Cemeteries in Early Medieval Ireland

crichardson09@qub.ac.uk

Philip Rivers

Law

An oral history of the transgender movement in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland: rights, recognition and the law

privers02@qub.ac.uk

Niall Robb

Politics

The role of interest groups in policymaking in Northern Ireland with particular attention to the European context

nrobb03@qub.ac.uk

Benjamin Rosher

Sociology

Brexit at the border: applying the lens of biopolitics

brosher01@qub.ac.uk

Michael Sharry

Politics

How will citizenship develop on the island of Ireland in the wake of Brexit and the NI Protocol?

msharry01@qub.ac.uk

Tara Shields

History

St Patrick's Purgatory: its function and significance in late Medieval Irish society

tshields05@qub.ac.uk 

Holly Shipton

History

Landscape, economy, and agriculture in Medieval Ireland; management and decision making on the manors of Roger Bigod

hshipton01@qub.ac.uk

Hannah Smith

Translation

Media coverage of political violence: Othering during the Troubles in Northern Ireland

hsmith09@qub.ac.uk

Lauren Smyth

History

'Found on the Streets without Friends': Belfast Charitable Society and Child Welfare in Early Nineteenth-Century Belfast

lsmyth62@qub.ac.uk

Augusto Soares

Anthropology

Tracking online political sociality in Northern Ireland: social media engagement in a context of persistent antagonism and increasing diversity

asoares03@qub.ac.uk

Emilia Symington

Sociology

An investigation into the experiences of parents and young people in Northern Ireland with regards to freedom of expression

esymington03@qub.ac.uk

Rachael Thomas

History

International responses to the Northern Irish hunger strikes of 1980/81

rthomas08@qub.ac.uk

Constantin Torve

History

Valleys of Fear: Mapping Irish Secret Societies between Agrarian and Industrial Unrest, 1840-1880

ctorve01@qub.ac.uk

Sophia Traxler

History

Cumann na mBan's Military Pensions and Service Medals Campaign: A Fight for Equality, 1924-1958

straxler01@qub.ac.uk

Ebenezer Veerasingam

English

Sri Lankan experiences of migration to the West in literature (incl. Northern Ireland and Ireland)

eveerasingam01@qub.ac.uk

Dylan J. Wilkinson

Law

'One State, Two Systems: A legal framework for Northern Ireland's post-Brexit trade regime'

dwilkinson13@qub.ac.uk

Eleanor Williams

Politics

Were the intelligence and military activities in the conflicts in Northern Ireland and Colombia ethical, and did those activities have an impact on the peace processes? 

ewilliams08@qub.ac.uk 

Patricia Wilson

History

Gardens and landscapes of nineteenth-century Ireland

pwilson40@qub.ac.uk

Shurui Yang

Translation

Translating Philadelphia, Here I Come! for Chinese performance  - study mainly focuses on Brian Friel and translating his plays into Chinese

syang13@qub.ac.u

 

 

 

To be added to this list, please email us with your details at irish.studies@qub.ac.uk