A Bite of Queen's
The McClay Library
Opened in 2009.
Designed by Boston-based architects Sheply, Bulfinch, Richardson and Abbott in association with Belfast architects Robinson Patterson Partnership, the £50m McClay Library opened in July 2009. The building accommodates 2,200 reader spaces and houses 1.2 million volumes.
Illuminated by a multi-storey open atrium, the award-winning McClay Library includes IT training rooms, a Language Centre, Library and Computer support areas and a café, alongside the University's Special Collections and the C.S. Lewis Reading Room. Blending the best features of a traditional library with the latest technology, The McClay Library creates a truly 21st-century environment for students.
The McClay’s construction was the most significant building project at Queen's since the construction of the iconic Lanyon building in 1849 and was the result of the largest single fundraising initiative in the University’s history. The building was named in honour of Sir Allen McClay, the founder of the pharmaceutical company Almac and a major benefactor of Queen's University and the Library.
This tour will provide you with the opportunity to learn more about the building’s world-class study facilities and wide-ranging library, computing and media services.
Queen's University Belfast is committed to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion.
For more information please read our Equality and Diversity Policy.
Queen's University Belfast is registered with the Charity Commission for Northern Ireland NIC101788
VAT registration number: GB 254 7995 11